The Hand Of God Goal
The 1986 World Cup quarter-finals were a heated battle between Argentina and England. When time was almost expired as the two teams were in a 1-1 tie, Diego Maradona sailed between two defenders and approached England’s goalkeeper looking poised to score.
What happened next is still debated between soccer fans. As the ball fell back to earth from a high kick, Madonna leapt up and appears to head the ball into the net to rapturous applause. Upon watching the replay, it looks as though Madonna actually used his hand to knock the ball in for the winning score. It has since been dubbed the “Hand of God” goal. Maradona later came out and admitted that his illegal use of hands was true. The controversy is if the referees say it and ignored the cheat. Argentina went on to win the World Cup.